Direktlänk till inlägg 5 januari 2013

These stripes will never fade

Av Emelie Ederfors - 5 januari 2013 05:26

Yesterday was a very strange day for me and by the end of it I could only conclude that the season for the Dalhousie Women's Hockey team seems to be over; the rookies are done with the first year of university hockey and the fifth year players will never get the opportunity to line up for that Final home game.

Please don't missunderstand me now but I hope that the hazing incident was severe and that it wasn't just a small thing that ruined the season for each and every player on the team, the coaching staff and everyone else that is working with and around the team.

I will always remember the date of January 4th 2013, as well as I remember October 29th 2006 (my first shut out), January 27th 2007 when I played a phenomenal game against McGill facing 57 shots and where they only beat us 2-1 and February 21th 2010 when I played my last home game and we won against StFX in OT. The latter three dates will be remembered with warmth and joy.

Yesterday will unfortunately be a day to rembember but it was also a day of reminders.

A reminder how proud I am of wearing the black and gold jersey for 4 whole seasons.

A reminder that the Dalhousie Tigers is not just a former team for me it also a very big part of my identity.

A reminder that only those with the right commitment to the team, the sport and to school will be able to fulfill a successfull varsity career.

A reminder how thankful I should be that I got the opportunity to play hockey with the players of the Tigers throughout the years, being coached by the coaching staff at Dal and the wonderful people I have met around the team, many becoming my friends for life.

A reminder how  grateful I was and still am when I steped on the ice that February day 2010 with Eye of the Tiger from the speakers for my very last home game with the Dalhousie Tigers. Not everyone get the opportunity to play a last home game during their varsity career.

But yesterday was, most of all, a reminder that THESE STRIPES DON'T FADE!   

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Emelie Ederfors - 12 november 2020 12:11

Det här inlägget kommer inte att handla om hur nattsömnen är något upphackad med en liten 3 månaders bebis. Nej detta handlar om hur trött jag är på människors rent ut sagt korkade beteende i denna svåra pandemi.   Jag är trött på dom lärda, våra...

Av Emelie Ederfors - 22 mars 2019 16:21

Läste en artikel i dagens Smålandspostens inför första kvartsfinalen av herrarnas SM mellan Växjö Lakers och Luleå. Eftersom dom flesta vet vilket av dom här två lagen jag sympatiserar med vill jag börja med att göra klart att det här inlägget inte ä...

Av Emelie Ederfors - 28 juni 2018 16:56

Det var högst osportsliga scener som utspelade sig efter Tysklandsmatchen i fotbolls-VM när några av Tysklands ledare istället för att fira med sitt lag vände sig om för att visa sin segeryra för den svenska bänken. Att ledare för det lag som represe...

Av Emelie Ederfors - 11 april 2018 17:04

Det spelar inte så stor roll vilket land, vilket kön, vilken nivå eller vilken ålder; bussresor till bortamatcher är oftast snarlika varandra. Spelarna samlas i omklädningsrummet oftast iklädda lagets träningsoveraller eller lagjackor för att höja de...

Av Emelie Ederfors - 27 mars 2018 18:05

Jag minns den där aprilhelgen 2006 när jag tog mitt ACT-test i Göteborg och mamma hade ordnat biljetter åt oss två till en show på kvällen. Jag hade aldrig sett den artisten live förut och måste erkänna att jag var lite skeptiskt till valet av show s...

Presentation

Fråga mig

2 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
 
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
<<< Januari 2013 >>>

Tidigare år

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards